Rain, rain, go away…

My training plan for this week has been totally derailed. Of course, I *could* suck it up and run in the downpours, but to be honest…I just didn’t feel like it. So, my planned 13 mile run on Sunday did not happen. Several factors went into that decision. It was getting late at night, it was raining, the kids were needing to go to bed and stop crying. Blah, blah, blah. Lots of excuses.

Monday was supposed to be a rest day. Well, since I did absolutely nothing training related on Sunday, that just could not happen. ANNNND…it was RAINING again. Luckily, my handy dandy gym was available. I can always rely on Body Pump and Body Attack to perk me up and get me nice and sore.

photo_1 photo_2

I ended up being late for Body Attack since I ran over at work. Then, had to leave Body Pump early. I really only ended up getting a solid hour workout in. According to my Garmin, I still burnt about 500 calories, so not too shabby. And, according to my muscles today, I got a good workout.

Today is even more of a mess because I have to leave work, pick up both kiddos, head to my hair appointment (it desperately needs trimmed) and try to squeeze in a workout after all of that with both kids in tow. Whew. I’m already exhausted.

With all of that, I have to remember that my fitness is MY responsibility.

tumblr_m5prgkYkL51rul1syo1_500

Making excuses and allowances for not making workouts happen is MY fault. I might be a busy working mom. I might have a million other things to do (like clean my house). I also have to take care of myself to make ANY of that happen.

I will never have enough time.

I will never have enough money.

I can, however, do my best to ensure my health. I can take care of myself. I can put good things into my body and I can work hard to get good results out of my body. If I do that, I will be better for my husband, my kids, my job, myself. That’s what I often forget and that’s why it’s so easy to put myself on the back-burner.

No more back-burner. Time to get serious. Time to stop the excuses.

2 thoughts on “Rain, rain, go away…

  1. Colleen

    promise if you ever figure out how to make it all fit into 24 hours, you’ll share. my house is a pig stye, but i’ve been hitting all my runs and my kids are alive. hahaha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

