Magnets and boots

The worst thing you can tell a runner is “you cannot run”. After being diagnosed with the stress fracture via the X-ray last Monday, I opted for the MRI to assess the extent of the damage and hope it was all wrong.

IMG_9868.JPG

I anticipated hearing that there was a fracture (or even more fractures) and that I would need to be non-weight bearing and in the CAM boot for several weeks. It was the last thing I wanted to hear, but it’s what I expected. It’s what I prepared myself to hear.

But that’s not what I heard.

The thing about X-rays is that they’re apparently not that good as a diagnostic tool for stress fractures. They can either be completely missed OR they can be misdiagnosed easily.

I was lucky and fell into the latter. The changes seen on my X-ray ended up being some cortical changes related to inflammation.

NO FRACTURES!!!!!

HOWEVER, my peroneus longus tendon (the one the goes along the outer part of your ankle and wraps under your foot) is very inflamed and may have a small tear. The long word is tenosynovitis. Ouch. That’s apparently the cause of my pain and swelling. I still have the bruising on my heel, too. No idea on that.

So what’s the plan, Stan?

Well, I still have to wear the stinking walking boot. And not walk. So no weight-bearing for a few more days (compliance issue #1) and anti-inflammatory medications for a while as well (compliance issue #2). I’m not a very good patient, but I will do my best. I will see the doc again on Friday and go from there.

Of course, my first question was if this means I can do the triathlon in December 🙂

IMG_9803.JPG

One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

