An exciting year lies ahead!

I cannot express how excited I am for the 2015 season. It all started with being accepted into the Swim Bike Mom Ambassador Team and that sparked me getting crazy enough to sign up for the 2015 Ironman Lousiville. It just keeps getting better. I was sponsored by the HITS Triathlon Series for the 2014 HITS Championship on December 7th in Palm Springs, CA.

Just three weeks ago, I experienced a scare thinking I had a stress fracture. It was devastating. I had to give up my marathon. Two weeks in a walking boot. Ugh. LUCKILY, it ended up only (only!) being tenosynovitis (inflammation and fluid around my peroneal tendons in my foot). I was so scared that I wouldn’t be able to compete. But, I now have the ALL CLEAR from my great sports med team. So, I am going to ROCK this race!

This morning was my first day back on the road running. It was GREAT. I was so excited about it that I was bright eyed at 4am. I forced myself back to sleep and got up again at 5:15 ready to go. Coach Brant had me do a 4:1, run/walk for 20 minutes. 

FullSizeRender

Here are my splints for the run/walk intervals.

FullSizeRender2

I was pretty happy and felt great about them for being the first day back out. I stayed about my normal pace. Only a little slower. It was a great start. You have no idea how hard it was to not keep going for a few more miles!

I have been blessed to have randomly met Coach Brant Bahler of Dream Big Triathlon Coaching a couple of months ago.

IMG_9956

IMG_9955

I had been looking for a new bike saddle and he just happened to have the one I wanted for sale. (It was the Adamo ISM Road Saddle, if you were wondering.) Ironically, he had also been recommended to me by someone who had benefited from his services a few years back and completed their own first Ironman. It just seemed like the right decision to hire a coach that knew what he was doing. I totally think anyone considering entering triathlon should do the same. Plus, this guy made it to the 2015 Ironman 70.3 World Championship in Austria, so he probably knows what he’s doing. He’s also on the silver level (top 5%) in the Ironman All World Athlete Program. I have big goals and I know if I want to accomplish them, I need to remain focused and work hard. I am so glad that I now have someone there who believes that I can and will and will show me how.

I am also ecstatic to report that I am partnering with Gray Goat Sports

gray1_large

and Specialized Bikes.

SpeshLogoWhte

Brian Gootee, the owner of Gray Goat, has been so great amd supportive. This partnership is to help encourage other women in the Indianapolis area to become involved with their own fitness journeys and join the sport of cycling and triathlon. It’s not about speed or times, but about getting out there and just giving what you’ve got. Both of these companies know that. And, how amazing is it that they have bikes and programs actually geared toward women in a primarily male sport?

Gray Goat is kind of awesome and has two locations equal distance from my house. They recently opened their store location in Franklin, IN and it’s pretty sweet. During the proper weather season, (aka, not November in Indiana) they host women-only rides starting in a centrally located park. I cannot wait to be a part of all they have to offer.

My biggest announcement of all?

This pretty lady will be my weapon of choice for the 2015 tri season:

121575

The Shiv. Otherwise known as a “sharp or pointed implement used as a knife-like weapon.” Perfect for destroying the race course, right?! She needs a name! Lolita? Veronica? I don’t know, she needs a sexy, strong, intimidating name. And, she’s definitely a girl. Jeff votes Shiv Nasty. Silly…

Big things coming. Stay tuned. One day at a time.

In the meantime, be a goat. A gray one.

IMG_9925.JPG

One thought on “An exciting year lies ahead!

Leave a Reply

