The Crashed Rocket

Anyone who has ever completed an Ironman event will tell you that it isn’t an easy process. To be successful, you put in hours upon hours of training, hours of planning, and a considerable amount of emotional and financial investment. The best analogy I can surmise in regards to what happens AFTER the Ironman is over is with rocket science.

To successfully concept, build, and launch a rocket with an intended target, you have to spend a lot of time on education, training, planning, and have emotional and financial investment. You spend all of this time building the shell, building the inside parts, make sure it has plenty of fuel. You spend all of this time in anticipation of it’s launch wondering if it will indeed reach its target. When it does everything as planned, you feel accomplished and finished. But then what happens?

It falls to the ground. And crashes. And burns.

That’s me. On the ground. Crashing. And burning.

I spent so much time with so much structure and with so many other life stresses going on simultaneously that when I finally reached my target, I crashed and burned.

So, here I sit, 20 lbs heavier than when I was training. Here I sit, unable to complete a 5K without feeling as if I’m dying. Here I sit, downing Long’s Donuts like they’re closing their doors. Crashed. Burned.

I spent so much time planning, anticipating, and reaching for my goal that I didn’t consider the AFTER. I just assumed I would continue and keep doing what I was doing. However, I desperately needed a break. From triathlon. From life. So, I took it. And here I am 4 months later still on the ground.

The good news is that life is a journey, not a destination. I didn’t ARRIVE when I crossed the finish line at Ironman. It sure felt awesome, but it was just a part of the journey.

So where do I go from here? Well, I pull up my bootstraps–or in my case, my Lock Laces–and I go for a run. This is LIFE. This is PROGRESS. Even falling to the ground, crashing and burning, is progress. With progress in life, you just have to decide which direction you’re going.

Me? I’m moving forward. It’s not a straight line. But it’s forward.

fall-down-get-up

Leave a Reply

